REVIEW

    •   Been meaning to eat here for sometime as I live in Hanoi and crave a decent burger once in a while. Just had that! Perfectly cooked with good bun and fries. Excellent discreet service, exceptionally clean and authentic decor - loved it. Reasonable prices in...More

      thumb legh d
      9/28/2018

        We were looking for a scape from vietnamise food and we came here before reading a good recommendation in Google. It was great. The place is authentic and the food is great. The burgers are awesome!

      thumb Ana_de_Quinto
      10/04/2018

        Even though we were warned about getting scammed and pickpocketed in the markets of Hanoi, this was the last place we thought we would get scammed. The white guy in the billing gave us outdated dollar bills as change to the 100 dollar bill we...More

      thumb 664azras
      4/01/2019

        Ever been in Asia and longing for non-asian food? I know the feeling. Asian food is great but at a certain point it all tastes the same and this is the point when it feels like entering heaven if you go to S&L's Diner. Burgers,...More

      thumb mattiasr2018
      4/09/2019
    •   Visited the place on first of January with a major hungover. We had a very good quality burger and a very nice coleslaw. The portion are quite large unlike at other Vietnamese restaurants.

      thumb kvcsmrtn
      1/01/2019

        Food is standard and staffs are good, the decoration like fastfood rétaurant with some pictures of America. Price is quite cheap with high quality!

      thumb Trinh_Lien
      3/23/2019

        My family and I were looking for something different after 4 days in Hanoi. The S&L Diner did not disappoint! We had an amazing western-style breakfast, complete with biscuits and gravy, pancakes, waffles, and even a good cheesesteak for my wife that wasn’t hungry for...More

      thumb tbos185
      1/01/2019

        Respectable burger, chicken wings and chili! We liked it our experience here, except for the somewhat odd selection of classic rock playing in the background. The restaurant is family-friendly, so beware, you’ll probably hear children squabbling if you come during lunch.

      thumb greatwalk
      4/15/2019
    •   Ever been in Asia and longing for non-asian food? I know the feeling. Asian food is great but at a certain point it all tastes the same and this is the point when it feels like entering heaven if you go to S&L's Diner. Burgers,...More

      thumb Mattias R
      4/09/2019

        great american diner. great menu, staff and food just what we all needed : - ) sorry for being last ones out : -)

      thumb 460samh55
      10/09/2018

        I’m a Californian living in China, traveling in Hanoi and I fully appreciate this place! It is very authentic in every way. From the red leather seats to the license plates decorating the walls. However, it’s the food that made my poor homesick heart happy!...More

      thumb AllisonG67
      2/17/2019

        Great fix to feed that American food crave. The BBQ Pulled Pork Fries are very delicious appetizer. Staff is great and attentive.

      thumb 0neLovelyL8dy
      11/25/2018
    •   The first time we visited this place was on New Year’s Eve after reading the reviews, we were so glad that we gave it a go , the owner recommended the special for the evening which was the beef Wellington a little pricey we thought...More

      thumb Pete-Helenx
      1/12/2019

        Been here twice in the last couple weeks, really good food. Staff is attentive and friendly. Steve is the co-founder/manager, great guy, made a great menu and easy to talk to. Chicken and waffles are awesome, steak is nice, overall everything is very tasty and...More

      thumb Vincent R
      12/03/2018

        The meals are nice and the table service was pretty good as well. It’s an American diner that gives you small meals :( I expected an American experience not a Jenny Craig experience

      thumb Jet749023
      4/04/2019

        Very tasty American food, I had the chilli cheese steak and it was delicious. Going back again soon :)

      thumb Rhianne P
      3/15/2019
    •   The first time we visited this place was on New Year’s Eve after reading the reviews, we were so glad that we gave it a go , the owner recommended the special for the evening which was the beef Wellington a little pricey we thought...More

      thumb Helen-n-Pete
      1/12/2019

        Good food, good atmosphere. When you are looking for some great western food this is the place to go. Highly recommend.

      thumb CJinSydney
      4/22/2019

        Hands down, this was one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. Ever. Be prepared for western prices, thought. The burger is about USD 10. But, if you’re not into that sort of thing, the pumpkin salad (with added chicken) was also really good. (The...More

      thumb JSTrip_77
      11/16/2018

        Hands down, this was one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. Ever. Be prepared for western prices, thought. The burger is about USD 10. But, if you’re not into that sort of thing, the pumpkin salad (with added chicken) was also really good. (The...More

      thumb JSTrip_77
      11/16/2018

    Read more

    • review rating 3  The food was great. But i noticed that the staff was way more attentive to my companion who is a westerner by asking him questions throughout the meal. At the end of the meal they handed him a questionnaire for feedback but not me. So i guess opinions from Vietnamese customers don't really matter there.

      thumb Hà Huy Thiên Thư
      7/02/2017

      review rating 5  Dự án hiện đại, căn hộ đa dạng, phong phú về kích thước, phù hợp vs nhiều mục đích sử dụng, bên mình chuyên cung cấp dịch vụ sửa chữa, thiết kế và hoàn thiện nội thất, quý cư dân hãy chọn cho mình một căn hộ ưng ý, việc hoàn thiện nó theo đúng mơ ước của bạn hãy giao cho chúng tôi. Tư vấn miễn phí 097 9 634 630

      thumb Anh Thành Đỗ
      9/15/2016

      review rating 0  great food and great atmosphere.

      thumb Jon Halbreich
      11/11/2018

      review rating 5  Đã đến nhà hàng ăn mấy lần, đồ ăn khá hợp khẩu vị, đặc biệt là salad rau củ nướng và món sườn sốt BBQ. Miếng sườn lớn, ướp sốt ngon nên ăn rất sướng. Nhân viên trẻ nhiệt tình, cơ bản rất nice, giới thiệu tận tình. Mình cũng thích không gian của quán, không ầm ĩ, xô bồ. Ở đây hay mở mấy kiểu nhạc đồng quê nghe vui tai. Sẽ còn quay lại.

      thumb Linh Bi Downy
      9/29/2017
    • review rating 5  A hidden gem in Hanoi, felt totally back in the States, their biscuits and gravy is amazing.

      thumb William Phipps
      10/28/2017

      review rating 5  Ну, короче, очень вкусно )))

      thumb Lam Cà
      9/24/2018

      review rating 0  Thank you S&L diner for a lovely birthday party of my daugher! Very nice atmosphere, great foods, nice staffs and on top of that great music playlist which we all enjoyed today. Again, big ??

      thumb Vân Meo
      12/28/2018

      review rating 5  We really enjoyed our meal! The Blueberry Spritzer is very refreshing and my daughter stole most of my burger! A very good bowl of chili. What a welcome break from local specialties, the Diner will not disappoint.

      thumb Laurie Williamson
      1/07/2017
    • review rating 5  Great food and very welcoming service. I didn't expect much before coming here but this is the best American comfort food that I've ever tasted since I left America. The Philly cheese steak was authentic and brought back lots of good old memories. I'll definitely come back to try out more dishes. Congratulations, Steve and Loan ;)

      thumb Huong Vu
      12/26/2016

      review rating 5  I was so impressed today when I attended a birthday party of 80 people. The service was flawless, the care was outstanding, and the food, YUMMY! Top notch, fabulously unforgettable! Thanks so so much and see you again, soon! :)

      thumb Anissa S. Zotos
      6/04/2017

      review rating 5  Fantastic ! This is a MUST ! Great owner, great service, great food great price..... what else do we need ? Nothing. Go !

      thumb Avery Gunns
      7/20/2017

      review rating 5  I am from Philadelphia in the United States and nobody is more critical of restaurants than people from Philadelphia. During my visit to Vietnam I came across this gem! The owners are great and the owner is originally from my area. I had the Philly cheesesteak as one would from Philly. I saw it on the menu and the debate is who has the best cheesesteak in Philly? Pats or Genos? Well it is S&L diner hands down! I am sad we don't have a diner/restaurant of this quality here at home. The employees were speedy, food was amazing and the restaurant is beautiful. Even the five star restaurants in the United States aren't as nice as this establishment. I love the taste of Philly that is presented with the menu and the overall environment!

      thumb Justin Potter
      8/13/2017
    • review rating 5  Rất tuyệt (y)

      thumb Hoàng Phú Gia Royal
      2/22/2017

      review rating 1  Nói thật là đã ở home được một năm rồi, phải nói không bao giờ muốn chuyển vào đây ở luôn .

      thumb Chi Anh
      4/04/2018

      review rating 5  I have eaten here so many times. My favorites are: - the steak salad. super fresh and healthy - the steak. the steak is tender, juicy, and perfectly cooked to the way I like -- medium rare - the burger. - the chili fries. the fries are fresh and crispy, unlike the frozen fries you find at fast-foods or other compromised-standard Western restaurants in Vietnam. - the chili soup. gotta say that I eat this non-stop. - the sour cream. GUYSSSSS! they have the best sour cream here. I order sour cream on the side every single FUCKING time I come here. It's just so good that I can literally eat with anything. No kidding. The owner even gave me extra sour cream to bring home so i could munch on it haha. The staffs here are well trained and nice. Very friendly and attentive. tbh I'm not a big fan of chicken and waffles but some of my friends liked it. If you come here you can try my list :D Anw, really recommend this restaurant if you crave for some American diner dishes but want the premium out of it. p/s: they make their own ice. When i found out that, i was like "WTF?" I have never seen a restaurant in Hanoi make their own ice. Their kitchen is super clean too. Hard to find in Vietnam haha.

      thumb Duong Nguyen
      5/29/2017

      review rating 3  Very reasonable meal in a nice atmosphere. Great Soundtrack playing

      thumb John Michael
      6/20/2018
    • review rating 4  Stumbled across this place and glad we did. Wasn't expecting much based on the menu outside but was very pleasantly surprised with the high quality of food. Only criticism would be that there should be more effort made to ensure everyone's food arrives at the same time. I had finished my main course by the time the last person in our party of 4 got his. Great decor inside with with that exceeds your expectations makes this place well worth a visit.

      thumb Stu Franklin
      4/03/2017

      review rating 0  Excellent American food and service!! We gobbled up every bite of our 2 meals here--breakfast and lunch! (and dessert)!

      thumb Marea Bouma
      10/05/2018

      review rating 5  I needed a break from Vietnamese food and this place was so good! The strawberry soda and pulled pork fries ��

      thumb Molly Marie Mcilhatton
      8/08/2017

      review rating 3  Bọn mình đặt bàn qua hệ thống nhưng đến muộn mà các bạn nhân viên vẫn giữ bàn rất nhiệt tình nên cảm thấy ấn tượng ban đầu rất tốt. Các bạn xếp bàn cho ngồi ngay, khá nhiệt tình. Decor quán rất xinh, mang đậm phong cách diner của Mỹ mà mình hay xem trong phim � Đồ ăn thì mình gọi Mac n cheese, Cobb salad và Chicken & waffle. Đồ ăn thì có lẽ do mình kỳ vọng hơi nhiều nên đồ ăn với mình chỉ là chấp nhận được. - Mac n cheese phần mỳ hơi sống và khi ăn nhai hơi bị... mỏi. Sốt cheese ngon và thơm mùi tiêu nhưng giá mà mỳ mềm hơn 1 chút nữa. - Cobb salad ngon, lườn gà mềm, trứng luộc còn lòng đào tuy hơi nguội nhưng nhìn chung là ưng. - Chicken & waffle thì là một sự kết hợp khá lạ. Chưa ăn bao giờ nên thấy cái sốt hơi ngòn ngọt ăn với bánh waffle xốp mềm rất ok, gà rán mềm và tẩm ướp ngon. Điều làm mình để lại 3* là do lúc thanh toán. Bạn mình đặt bàn qua Tablenow nhưng khi thanh toán thì bill chưa được giảm 10% nên mình có hỏi lại để các bạn làm bill khác cho mình. Khi làm bill mới xong thì không biết do anh chủ nhà hàng vội hay như nào mà đi ngang qua ko nói 1 câu nào chỉ thả bụp cái bill xuống trước mặt mình khiến cả mình và bạn bị giật mình. Quả thực 2 đứa khá ngỡ ngàng. Mình không rõ lý do vì sao đích thân anh chủ mang bill ra nhưng chẳng nói câu nào mà chỉ thả bill xuống bàn khiến mình cảm thấy như chúng mình bị "ném" bill vậy. Trước đó dù đồ ăn chưa được như mình tưởng tượng nhưng mình vẫn nghĩ sẽ quay lại để ăn thử các món khác trong menu. Nhưng sau khi thanh toán mình đã nghiêm túc suy nghĩ về việc liệu có nên quay lại hay không.

      thumb Ngoc Anh Tran
      8/12/2017

    Read more

    • review rating 5  great place for some real American food. the owner is nice and very friendly. everyone speak fluent English

      thumb Jules Felso
      10/05/2018

      review rating 5  As an American living in Hanoi, this is my sanctuary. I've always had great food here, and excellent shakes. The special Thanksgiving meal was tasty and nicely arranged. I like the chicken, BBQ, and salads. Usually comfortable temp, a bit on the warm side, and clean facilities. Staff speaks English well. Recommended.

      thumb Rikki H
      12/05/2018

      review rating 5  Beautiful restaurant that's amazingly decorated with everything you'd expect in a traditional American diner, though I must say it looks way more classy than any I've ever been to. There are two floors, and food is served until late. Menu is varied with quite a few vegetarian options, beers, coffee and cocktails available too. Great brunch place and service is fast, kind and really helpful. Prices arent too expensive for what you're getting, would definitely recommend the place.

      thumb Joana Denelle
      12/24/2018

      review rating 5  Best late night joint in Hanoi. Great western food that delivers on all your cravings! Chicken tenders and bbq pork cheese fries for the win. It’s called a diner for a reason and it lives up to the name.

      thumb Chelsea Martin
      11/29/2018
    • review rating 5  Great Food, Good Times My family and I were looking for something different after 4 days in Hanoi. The S&L Diner did not disappoint! We had an amazing western-style breakfast, complete with biscuits and gravy, pancakes, waffles, and even a good cheesesteak for my wife that wasn’t hungry for breakfast food. The atmosphere is great, they have good tunes, and the staff is very friendly and attentive. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking to change it up a bit while exploring Hanoi!

      thumb Nguyễn Quang Tuyên
      1/05/2019

      review rating 5  Very good food especially if you have been away from home and you just want some good western food. Great service too

      thumb Erin McCabe
      11/24/2018

      review rating 5  (Tradotto da Google) Bel ristorante che è incredibilmente decorato con tutto ciò che ti aspetteresti in un ristorante americano tradizionale, anche se devo dire che sembra molto più elegante di qualsiasi altro che abbia mai visto. Ci sono due piani, e il cibo è servito fino a tardi. Il menu è vario con alcune opzioni vegetariane, birre, caffè e cocktail disponibili. Ottimo posto brunch e il servizio è veloce, gentile e davvero disponibile. I prezzi non sono troppo costosi per quello che stai ricevendo, consiglio vivamente il posto. (Originale) Beautiful restaurant that's amazingly decorated with everything you'd expect in a traditional American diner, though I must say it looks way more classy than any I've ever been to. There are two floors, and food is served until late. Menu is varied with quite a few vegetarian options, beers, coffee and cocktails available too. Great brunch place and service is fast, kind and really helpful. Prices arent too expensive for what you're getting, would definitely recommend the place. (Tradotto da Google) Bel ristorante che è incredibilmente decorato con tutto ciò che ti aspetteresti in un ristorante americano tradizionale, anche se devo dire che sembra molto più elegante di qualsiasi altro che abbia mai visto. Ci sono due piani, e il cibo è servito fino a tardi. Il menu è vario con alcune opzioni vegetariane, birre, caffè e cocktail disponibili. Ottimo posto brunch e il servizio è veloce, gentile e davvero disponibile. I prezzi non sono troppo costosi per quello che stai ricevendo, consiglio vivamente il posto. (Originale) Beautiful restaurant that's amazingly decorated with everything you'd expect in a traditional American diner, though I must say it looks way more classy than any I've ever been to. There are two floors, and food is served until late. Menu is varied with quite a few vegetarian options, beers, coffee and cocktails available too. Great brunch place and service is fast, kind and really helpful. Prices arent too expensive for what you're getting, would definitely recommend the place. Mi piace

      thumb federica trivigno
      1/06/2019

      review rating 4  I continue to find my way back to this place when I visit Hanoi for work. It just hits a spot that I haven’t found elsewhere in town. It has a great “diner” feel, complete with fun oldies music. Service is excellent. Food is good enough that I enjoy what I ordered but wouldn’t order it again, TBH. So far I’ve had fish & chips, chicken & waffle, biscuits & gravy. Very friendly, welcoming atmosphere and the owners seem to always be around.

      thumb Ginny Coleman
      9/18/2018
    • review rating 5  Delicious and authentic American diner food. Friendly service. Super fun little location right in the Old Quarter

      thumb Melissa LaFrance
      1/02/2019

      review rating 5  (Tradotto da Google) Bel ristorante che è incredibilmente decorato con tutto ciò che ti aspetteresti in un ristorante americano tradizionale, anche se devo dire che sembra molto più elegante di qualsiasi altro che abbia mai visto. Ci sono due piani, e il cibo è servito fino a tardi. Il menu è vario con alcune opzioni vegetariane, birre, caffè e cocktail disponibili. Ottimo posto brunch e il servizio è veloce, gentile e davvero disponibile. I prezzi non sono troppo costosi per quello che stai ricevendo, consiglio vivamente il posto. (Originale) Beautiful restaurant that's amazingly decorated with everything you'd expect in a traditional American diner, though I must say it looks way more classy than any I've ever been to. There are two floors, and food is served until late. Menu is varied with quite a few vegetarian options, beers, coffee and cocktails available too. Great brunch place and service is fast, kind and really helpful. Prices arent too expensive for what you're getting, would definitely recommend the place. (Tradotto da Google) Bel ristorante che è incredibilmente decorato con tutto ciò che ti aspetteresti in un ristorante americano tradizionale, anche se devo dire che sembra molto più elegante di qualsiasi altro che abbia mai visto. Ci sono due piani, e il cibo è servito fino a tardi. Il menu è vario con alcune opzioni vegetariane, birre, caffè e cocktail disponibili. Ottimo posto brunch e il servizio è veloce, gentile e davvero disponibile. I prezzi non sono troppo costosi per quello che stai ricevendo, consiglio vivamente il posto. (Originale) Beautiful restaurant that's amazingly decorated with everything you'd expect in a traditional American diner, though I must say it looks way more classy than any I've ever been to. There are two floors, and food is served until late. Menu is varied with quite a few vegetarian options, beers, coffee and cocktails available too. Great brunch place and service is fast, kind and really helpful. Prices arent too expensive for what you're getting, would definitely recommend the place. Mi piace

      thumb federica trivigno
      1/06/2019

      review rating 4  I continue to find my way back to this place when I visit Hanoi for work. It just hits a spot that I haven’t found elsewhere in town. It has a great “diner” feel, complete with fun oldies music. Service is excellent. Food is good enough that I enjoy what I ordered but wouldn’t order it again, TBH. So far I’ve had fish & chips, chicken & waffle, biscuits & gravy. Very friendly, welcoming atmosphere and the owners seem to always be around.

      thumb Ginny Coleman
      9/18/2018

    Read more

    Chef Inspired Comfort Food
    • 22 Bao Khanh, Hoan Kiem, Ha Noi.
    •  
      024 3710 0529
    •  
      Mon- Sun: 9:00 – 00:00